Woman playing badminton

Badminton was first played in Fremantle, Western Australia in 1900 with the first club being established that same year.

The Badminton Association of Western Australia (Inc) (Badminton WA) was formed in 1924, with the first Annual General Meeting held in 1925. It was incorporated in 1933 under then-current Associations Incorporation Act 1895 (WA) (currently replaced by the Associations Incorporation Act 2015).

Affiliation with the Badminton Association of Australia occurred in 1936. Badminton WA decided to build badminton-specific headquarters in 1962, the first Australian Association to take this step, and the Wembley Centre was officially opened in 1964. This stadium served the Association well being the venue for a number of national and international events, until it was sold in 2000. Badminton WA then moved to new headquarters at the Kingsway International Sports Stadium (now the Kingsway Indoor Stadium) located in the City of Wanneroo. This stadium meets the required criteria for international events.

WA has played a strong part in the development of the sport in Australia. WA has been the second strongest State after Victoria for more than 20 years. From the early sixties until the late eighties no WA Senior or Junior Team finished lower than second in any national competition.

Twenty five WA players have represented Australia in international competition. Audrey Tucker won a gold medal at the Edinburgh Commonwealth Games in 1986 for the mixed doubles event.

On the administrative side WA has had three elected members on the Board of Badminton Australia: They are Cedric Baxter, Don Stockins, and Judith Cousins.

Several WA members have held senior positions with national teams - Val Sullivan as Australian Junior Manager, Kay Terry Australian Junior Manager, and Audrey Tuckey the Australian Junior Coach.

WA Court Officials are well represented internationally: Greg Vellacott is a BWF Umpire Assessor, Jane Wheatley is a BWF Referee Assessor, Kelly Hoare and Jiten Bhatt are BWF Certificated Umpires. Don Stockins, Brice Napier and Colin Harris also hold international qualifications.

Click here for the list of past Western Australian state champions.